Writing Goals 2016

After I made my first post yesterday, I went exploring through Word Press. I wanted to get an idea of what other people are doing out there. How this whole thing works. How to get people to actually read what I am writing. I followed some people, left some comments, and got some ideas for things to do that will help me write more. I came across one blogger who listed out her writing goals for the year and I love this idea. I love making lists because when I complete something on it and cross it off, I feel like I actually accomplished something. (For someone who struggles with being VERY lazy, crossing things off a list really makes me happy). Also, I feel like if I share my goals with everyone it keeps me accountable. Feel free to bug me periodically to ensure I am sticking to my list.

So here goes, my Writing Goals for 2016

  • Write out my goals
  • Write a blog post everyday
  • Write one 1,000 word vignette a week (to be posted on Thursdays)
  • Write a minimum of 1,000 words a week for my book
  • Complete the first draft of my book (6/1/2016)
  • Edit book draft

Now that I have my list and have shared it with the world (and by world, I mean the 3 people I can confirm are actually reading this: shout out to my work buddies!)  I can start working towards meeting all of these and crossing them off.

As I write this I am realizing I won’t actually get to cross anything off for a while (2 of those I can’t really ever cross off. At least not until the end of the year) so I added one more goal to the top of the list in order to get that satisfaction. Don’t you just love crossing things off lists? Come June 1st I should be able to cross off 2 more things and will update y’all on that progress!

How do you feel about lists? Do you find them helpful? Does crossing things off give you pleasure? Let me know in the comments!

Also, I want to mention Live to Write-Write to Live, as this was the blog I got the Writing Goals idea from.

As I have already said, I will post daily and every Thursday I will post an extra exciting vignette. If that isn’t enough for you, follow me on twitter @Andythewriter33 and if THAT isn’t enough for you, too bad. That’s all I got.

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

