Excuses not to Write

I got home from Job #2 tonight, changed into my comfy clothes, sat down on the couch and turned on the TV. 30 minutes into watching Jaws for the umpteenth time, I realized, I hadn’t written my post for today. “Next commercial break, I’ll start.” Movie comes back from the commercials and I realize I still haven’t opened my laptop. “I’m so tired. Work was exhausting today. Do I really have to write tonight?” Then I remember my goals I set for myself YESTERDAY. “You have to post every day!”  I start to think about all the excuses I have not to write.

  • I’m too tired
  • One more episode of whatever show I’m currently binging
  • Wesley (dog) is being really whiney and I have to go outside to get a break from him
  • Bronson (cat) won’t stop walking on the laptop
  • Everyone is going out to the bar and I want to go to
  • I have writer’s block (this is the most common excuse)

I really could on. The excuses are endless. The thing about being creative is I can always come up with a reason NOT to do something and it will be a valid reason. (I am also great in an argument)

The weekends are really going to be the hardest part of sticking to my writing goals. After working 8 hours of retail on Saturday and Sunday, the last thing I want to do is think about anything. It will always be easier to lay on the couch, open a beer and turn on the TV. But becoming a published author isn’t easy. The things that come too easily never last or aren’t worth it. If I am going to finish my book, I need to be writing every day. That is the entire point of this blog. So starting today I will no longer accept excuses from myself for why I can’t write.

  • I’m too tired Write for 30 minutes then you can go to sleep
  • One more episode of whatever show I’m currently binging It will still be on Netflix when you’re done writing
  • Wesley (dog) is being really whiney and I have to go outside to get a break from him Put the dog outside
  • Bronson (cat) won’t stop walking on the laptop Close the cat in the back of the house
  • Everyone is going out to the bar and I want to go to You can meet up with them after you write
  • I have writer’s block (this is the most common excuse) Write a short story in 23 minutes

I got the 23 minute idea from the blog A Hole in Serenity. He attempted to write a short story during his train commute home from work. For me, starting with a blank page from scratch is sometimes daunting but if I can get in the habit of doing this every time I have writer’s block, I really think it will help.

Now, it is time to go work on my book for half an hour before I go to bed. I will wake up tomorrow; go back to Job #2, followed by family dinner. When I get home from all the chaos around 8 pm, I will be full of excuses not to write but now I will remind myself of all the reasons I should be writing.

What are some of your excuses not to write? Or just excuses not to do the things you should be doing?

Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog so you never miss a post! And if you need more of me, follow me on twitter @Andythewriter33

3 Comments

  1. Hey Andy, sounds like you’ve made a great decision there! Well done for coming this far. It’s a great achievement to have decided to take on writing a book so always remember that! Small, unique challenges really help me to test myself. Even the 23 minute challenge really helped. Keep it up! Mark
    P.s. Thanks for the link! Much appreciated

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too have the procrastination demon. Have you ever read about if-then planning? It works in helping you rebuild habits and reach new goals. For instance, I think if you set something like ” if it is 8pm on M-WF, then I will write for 30 min.” It essentially removes the possibility of distraction and makes it easier for you to do.

    Here is a very brief article, but there are books and blogs that go more in depth and some even angled towards writers.

    https://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/201102/the-science-success-the-if-then-solution

    You’re doing great, keep it up! Can’t wait to read future blog posts and your forthcoming novel. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

