Addicted to Books

I am feeling a lot better today. I finally managed to finish my vignette and published it
this morning. I don’t know what was up with me yesterday but I was not feeling it and even after I got home from work I was still struggling to write. I guess those days are to be expected no matter what. The fact that I have been able to write every day for 2 weeks is an accomplishment for me but for some reason I just could not see that yesterday. I have added a note to my wall that says “Stay Positive.” Anyway, I just wanted to apologize for my whiny post yesterday.

12418041_1130111177008526_7205231270672089717_n

So, recently I came across the Half Price Books blog here on WordPress. It is full of lists of books for any occasion. This is exciting for me but also bad news for my checking account. Half Price Books is probably my biggest weakness. I can talk myself out of buying anything no matter how much I really probably need it. But when it comes to books, I have never been able to do that. I have never walked out of a Half Price Books empty handed. In order to stop myself from buying books, I have to somehow manage to convince myself that I don’t need to go to Half Price Books at all. The other day I discovered a 20% off coupon from their twitter that is only good for this weekend. Of course, with my vacation coming up, I have a trip planned for tomorrow for pool reading material. (If you aren’t already on their mailing list, CLICK HERE. You will get your own 20% off coupon after signing up.) I’ve decided, even though I have plenty of books at home that I haven’t read yet, I need to go stock up on books written by authors with criminal justice backgrounds. You know, for my research. I NEED these books. And I cannot waste a 20% off my entire purchase coupon. That would be sacrilegious. What if they stop sending me coupons because I don’t use the ones I already have? I could never take that risk.

It was a dark day for my checking account when I found out you can order books from Half Price online. I rarely go into Half Price with a specific book in mind. I like to browse till I find the ones that grab my attention. But on the rare occasions I want something specific, I can just go to their website and order it. I will add though, I am less likely to buy books “just because” from the website. Browsing for books online doesn’t come with the same temptation as having them right in front of me. But if I were to stop buying books for my collection then I will never have my dream library. You know the one, the giant room in the house that is floor to ceiling books. The one with a ladder with wheels to roll around through the stacks and the huge bay window with a cushion that is full of pillows so you have somewhere comfortable to read. You know what I’m talking about. Right? I know I am not the only one with this addiction. At least one other person in my life shares this problem. I would suggest Book Addicts Anonymous but why should we quit our love for books? Books take us to other worlds. Books teach us things we don’t already know. Books show us other ways to see things. I never want to give up books. They are too important to the world. That is part of the reason I want to write a book so badly. I want to share my passion for books with the world. I will never be able to have books on a kindle or my iphone. That is no way to treat a book. I like being able to hold a book in my hands. Smell it. I love the way books smell. That is why I will for sure publish my book to be printed. If I couldn’t hold my book in my hand, it wouldn’t feel real to me. Like I have said before, I want to see my book on my book shelf. Not placed prominently at the top or right in the center, but just mixed in with my other favorite books. Tucked away, all cozy. I can’t wait for that day. It is going to be awesome.

Do you share my addiction for books? What is the one thing you are unable to talk yourself out of buying?

Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog so you never miss a post! And if you need more of me, follow me on twitter @Andythewriter33

AND don’t forget to go check out today’s vignette!

Leave a Reply

