A New Development

I don’t know why this seems unexpected to me but I have hit a wall with my writing already. Even this blog isn’t keeping me active. I went from thinking about writing all day every day to it not even popping into my head until just now. I didn’t think about my blog once today until almost 2. Maybe my head is still on vacation time? I don’t know but the days seem to be moving slower and my mind seems to be getting emptier. I am forgetting to write. This always happens. I get revved up and excited about writing and it lasts a couple of days (this is the longest I have made it in long time) then I just put it out of my mind again. It comes in conversations with people, “oh yeah, I am writing a book!” but then I never do anything with it. I know my empty head syndrome hit me once already but ever since I went on vacation I haven’t been able to get it back. I need something to stimulate my mind and get me going again. It is almost like I don’t even care. I made this blog to keep me accountable and I already had the “meh nothing is gunna happen if I don’t write,” thought. But that is exactly the problem.

NOTHING WILL HAPPEN IF I DON’T WRITE

If I don’t write, my book will never be finished and never be published. I will never be able to scratch that one goal off my list. I will never be able to look at my book shelf and see my book sitting there, nestled in all cozy in between my other books. Sure, it is easier to not write. I don’t have to think about it and I can just do nothing when I am not at work. I’m not going to lie, doing nothing is one of my favorite things to do. I am not one of those people that needs to be busy all the time. I can sit on the couch all day and watch TV and not even think twice about it. That sounds wonderful to me right now. But if I am ever going to accomplish anything I have got to stop doing nothing and start doing something. Anything.

Writing Goals 2016

  • Write a blog post everyday
  • Write one 1,000 word vignette a week (to be posted on Thursdays)
  • Write a minimum of 1,000 words a week for my book
  • Complete the first draft of my book (6/1/2016)
  • Edit book draft

Just needed a little reminder of what I promised myself I would do this year. I already sort of failed this week. I didn’t post a vignette yesterday. I forgot about it until I was writing my post then I got distracted and didn’t even think about it again until just now when I was reading that damn list. Probably the only thing I hate about lists, is when I leave them unfinished. When I write out a list, there is 90% chance I will not finish the entire list. The items just sit there, undone. Never getting a line drawn through them or a check mark next to them. It is kind of sad when you think about it. They were written there in the hopes that they would one day be completed but they never will. They will just sit on the paper forever. Until one day, I get tired of looking at the list I never finished and will throw it away so I won’t feel guilty about it anymore.

I think the fact that I let very few things bother me is my downfall when it comes to finishing things. If there isn’t a real reason like, “you will get fired if you don’t do this,” or “you will be evicted if you don’t do this,” then I won’t do it. I am too old to still be this lazy. How have I made it this far into my life without developing some kind of drive or motivation? That is worrisome. Maybe I will see a therapist about this…

Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog so you never miss a post! And if you need more of me, follow me on twitter @Andythewriter33

Leave a Reply

