Tattooed

tattooed
I finally finished Tattooed last night. I took me longer than thrillers usually take me but it was good. I liked the way she switched the main character around chapter to chapter. It gave me good ideas for my own writing. Since I did found out after the fact that it is the 3rd book in a series I wonder if I would have enjoyed it more had I read the other two first. I didn’t really get to know the main character as well as I might have in the first book. So, even though for the most part the story didn’t require much detail from the other two books to keep it interesting, I didn’t really connect with the main character of Kate Lange who is portrayed throughout the series.  That, of course, is no fault of the authors. It alluded to the previous book quite a few times though so I will probably see about finding the first two so I can feel like I have all the information.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, it gave me great ideas, and I learned a lot about how to do things in my own writing. It just wasn’t a page turner for me.

41LG0hcWrzL._SX304_BO1,204,203,200_

My next book up is Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. A coworker from job #1 suggested this book and thinks I will really enjoy. I trust her opinion so I am taking a quick break from my CJ background only authors to give this book a chance. However, after a quick google of Gillan Flynn I did find she used to be a crime reporter for a short time. This may be a slight stretch but I am going to allow it. Sharp Objects was Flynn’s first book. I have already read Gone Girl and enjoyed that so I do have high hopes for this one. Plus, this fits into my reading the first book written by well known authors thing I talked about a while back. I will be able to see how this compares to her most recent published book. I wonder how long this one will take me to read. I will keep you posted.

(By the way, I don’t know if you guys noticed, but I always attach a link on the book photos to amazon where you can purchase these books I talk about. If you are interested at all.)

Don’t forget to follow me here and on Twitter @Andythewriter33

Leave a Reply

