Sharp Objects

41LG0hcWrzL._SX304_BO1,204,203,200_

I finished Sharp Objects yesterday. (can cross that off my to do list for the week) It wasn’t until I was about half way through this book that I finally got into it. I was surprised it took me so long too considering how quickly I read Gone Girl. That being said, I enjoyed this story much more than I enjoyed Gone Girl. I didn’t finish this cursing the ending. I finished it completely caught off guard. It had me thinking one way most of the time and then BOOM hit you with something else. I really like books that do that. They keep me guessing and questioning. I hope my book will keep readers guessing and questioning the whole time too.

 

417Gydh4nLL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve already started my next book. Dateline Purgatory: Examining the Case that Sentenced Darlie Routier to Death by Kathy Cruz. Now, I know this one doesn’t entirely fit my research in the sense that it is a true story. It is about a crazy double murder of two young boys here in Texas. The mother was quickly found guilty of their murders and is currently on death row. It is a case that I have been interested in for a while and have not found the time to read any actual books on it. I’ve only watched some documentaries and dove deep into the internet to read about it. There are actually a few books written on this case. This is the most recent, I believe. Kathy Cruz does not fit my author criteria though. This is another author who was a reporter. But, this book will be full of details and facts about a case so I am curious how she is going to wade through all the “technical stuff.” Over all, I still think it counts as research.

One thing I haven’t talked about at all when it comes to these books is the size of the book. I often like to close myself into the bathroom and read in a nice steamy bubble bath with a candle that smells good and maybe an alcoholic beverage (for the next 2 weeks it will be tea.) This keeps away all the distractions that come with living with two animals. Certain books just are not the best size and shape for this. I can already tell Dateline Purgatory is going to be very difficult to hold in the bath tub. Sharp Objects was reasonable because it wasn’t too thick. Tattooed was almost the ideal size for bubble bath reading maybe slightly too thick but still manageable. I realize that was a really weird tangent to go off on but at the same time, I reading these books to research and get ideas for my own. Something I think I want for my book is for it to be easy to read in the bathtub. Or pool if that will make it sound less weird. Anyway, just thought I would start adding that to my reviews. So far,

  • The Execution of Noa P. Singleton: 3 bathtubs
  • Tattooed: 4 bathtubs
  • Sharp Objects: 3 1/2 bathtubs
  • Dateline Purgatory: TBD

 

Don’t forget to follow me on here and on Twitter @Andythewriter33 for thrilling updates on how easy certain books are to read in the bathtub.

 

Leave a Reply

