To Read or not to Read

Have you ever been reading a book and knew pretty quickly that it just wasn’t for you? Maybe it is terrible or maybe it’s not that it isn’t interesting but just the writing itself is getting on your nerves. I have this weird need to finish every book I start. I can count on one hand the number of books I have put down and walked away from for good. Just like with movies, I rarely will turn a movie off before it is over. No matter how bad I think it is.

The book I am reading now is a tough one. It is a case I am very interested in. I want to read this book. I want to learn more about the other people involved in this case. I want to read about other peoples theories. But the writer’s style is driving me crazy! I know that she is a journalist and that is a totally different style of writing. I knew this going in. I want to read this book. I don’t want it to be bad. I don’t want to put it down and walk away from it forever. But I also don’t want to get stuck on a book that is going to take me forever to read and then I am not reading anything else. I need to be reading everyday and if this book is keeping that from happening then maybe I need to walk away from it.

So, do I get another book and just read this one on and off? Do I push through and finish the book? Or do I walk away from it? I can’t make this decision. I hate making decisions. I will probably just push through and read the book. Maybe if I just focus all my energy on it, I can finish it quick and it then it will be done and I can move on. Like ripping off a band-aid. I HATE ripping off band-aids…

Don’t forget to follow me here and on Twitter @Andythewriter33

Leave a Reply

