The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Well that was a quick read. Didn’t even get to give this one an official bathtub rating. Although, I can go ahead and say it would get 5 bathtubs.

Anyway, I enjoyed it. I went into it actually not knowing a thing about it. I had heard of it and I knew they made it a movie and I knew that girl from Harry Potter was in it. She was right? I could be wrong about that. As I was saying, I didn’t know anything about the story. Having it set up in just letters is I think what made it a quick read. I didn’t pay too much attention to the time line though, I ignored the dates quite a bit. But it didn’t confuse me at all. I had an idea about where it was going though as I read. The more he made certain off hand comments. They were well hidden though. It was a sad story but I feel it had a nice happy ending. Which is nice. There are a lot of people going through that same issue that won’t have nice happy endings. They will never get the help they need. They may never know they need help. Or that help is an option. They will continue down a path that one day they won’t be able to get off. I think this book may be helpful to some of those people. Their minds convince them they are the only ones going through this and I think reading a book like this, where they are seeing the progression of his mental state may start to feel familiar and offer a light at the end of the tunnel kind of thing. I don’t know though. Maybe I am being too optimistic. It can’t hurt though, right?

Like I already said, I liked this one. It was nice to finally want to read a book. I am pretty close to breaking up with Slip of the Knife and moving on. There was a point yesterday where I thought I had lost it and I actually thought, “well that would be the perfect reason to stop reading it!” but then i found it. Still, I think the fact that it has not caught my interest is reason enough to let it go. I was able to read The Perks of Being a Wallflower in one day. So it isn’t me. It’s the book.

So, I guess this is my break up with Denise Mina and Slip of the Knife. Maybe one day, I will come across it again and give it another chance but for now…

64616404

 

Now, to choose my next book…

Don’t forget to follow me here and on Twitter @AndytheWriter33

Leave a Reply

