June 2

So, as you may or may not have noticed, I have not been writing at all for 2 months. June 1 came and went yesterday and my book is still unfinished. I can’t blame anyone or anything but myself. While my excuses will always be valid, they are still excuses. I will never accomplish anything if I continue to make excuses for myself. I am still committed to finishing this book before the end of the year. I have 6 months left to do it. I will be taking the entire month of July off from Job #2 so I will have weekends again for a month. I plan on using those weekends to try and get myself to relax again and be able to write. One of my biggest excuses has always been that I am too exhausted. It’s true. Trying to be creative when you work 7 days a week is tough. It isn’t impossible though. So, as I push myself through June, I will look forward to July.

When I last posted I was about to start reading Fight Club. It was an easy read but, a long with my not writing, I let the reading fall to the side. However, I did finally finish it a couple of weeks ago. Once I forced myself back onto the reading train, it has been easier to stay on track with that. My co-worker brought me some books that I wouldn’t normally have chosen and I read them both pretty quick. They are YA Fantasy books which as a 28 yr old woman I would think would be silly to read but I did actually enjoy them and hey, at least they got me reading again.I am going to re read the second book in the 5th Wave series today. The 3rd book came out last week and it has been so long since I read it, I cannot remember a thing that happened. So I will re read the Infinite Sea and then read the Last Star. I am currently 1 book behind schedule for my reading goal but that isn’t too bad. Plus, I just said I would read 24 books this year, not that I would read 2 a month so I am not too concerned with that.

As for the bathtub ratings for the last 3 books I read….I didn’t read any of them in the bathtub. Fight Club was paper back and belong to me so I could have and it probably would have been a fine bathtub book but with the weather starting to warm up, warm baths haven’t sounded as appealing. The other 2 did not belong to me and were hard covers. I would never risk trying to read a hardcover in the bathtub especially one that doesn’t belong to me. So the last 3 books were mostly read on my front porch. Aside from the bathtub, it is my favorite spot to sit and read. I only have so many good days before summer really starts here and then it won’t really be the best option. It has been raining so much that it is either been a decent temperature or so humid you are almost immediately drenched in sweat. I like to enjoy the nice days while I can. Maybe in July I will get an inflatable pool and set it up in the yard to read in. My new book rating can be the pool rating. I look forward to that.

Well, I guess it is time for me to stare blankly at my book while the cursor blinks at me. I swear I can hear the jeopardy music playing while I stare at the blank space and the flashing cursor.

If you are interested in the books I read in my absence, I have provided you with links directly to where you can order them.

61uYQM9S3mL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_  16096824  17927395

 

Those last two reminded me that I should never keep myself from reading a book just because it is labeled “Young Adult.” I know fantasy isn’t for everyone but if you enjoyed True Blood I think you would enjoy this series. Keep in mind there is one more to come and it won’t be out until next year…the wait begins…

Don’t forget to follow me here and on Twitter @Andythewriter33

I promise to start writing more. Probably won’t go back to every day but I will write again.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

