A New Approach

14492341_10154448104281291_5446867286335173324_n

New Motto

As the end of the year gets closer, I am realizing what I am doing is not working. I have been writing again but not getting as much on paper as I need. I am way passed my deadline of June 1 to finish my first draft. If I want to have this book finished by the end of the year I am going to have to come up with something new. A new way to write or a different place to write or maybe my book needs a new direction. I have talked about experimenting with different points of view and I have been thinking about it a lot more recently. I have started reading another YA fantasy series call A Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. I really like the way she switches points of views. I just want to find a way to include the other characters thought process. I also want to find a way to include the serial killers thoughts but I am not sure how to do that without giving away who he is. I think I am going to spend this week doing some trial an error and see if anything feels right. I am definitely more inclined to write when I am enjoying a book series so it is good this one has so many. Maybe it will keep me going through the end of the year. Fingers crossed!

I am 6 books behind schedule for my reading goal of 24 books this year. That is sad. It shouldn’t be so hard to read 24 books in a year. Another plus about this series being long is I can add books to my read list fairly quickly. I never did finish White Oleander…I don’t know why I can’t finish it. I am so close to the end but I keep losing interest. Maybe after I finish Heir of Fire I will force myself through to the end of White Oleander before I start book 4 in this series. It seems like such a waste to be so close to the end and not get credit for it because it is unfinished. It’s funny how I will go through these phases where I will read one book after another and then something comes up that interrupts my flow and then it takes forever to get me back on track. I am like that with my writing too. I let too many things get to me and keep me from doing what I need to be doing.

I went to a book signing/meet and greet thing a couple of weeks ago and while he was talking he mentioned how when you are a true writer nothing can keep you from writing. If you don’t write you are miserable. This is something I have heard a lot of authors say. It really makes me question myself. I do love to write and I love the feeling of someone reading my writing and enjoying it. That is exciting for me. But what I am hearing from published authors is that I am not a true writer because I have such a hard time finding the time to write every day. It is almost as if, because I have chosen to work 2 jobs and try and get out of debt instead of quitting everything and forcing myself into poverty in order to write, that I am not a true writer. I don’t think they intend to be discouraging but when I think about that it gets in my head. It makes me question my intentions. It makes me feel like a fraud. And the more negative I get, the harder is for me to write. Especially when I am always tired from working 2 jobs and being sick. When I feel bad about myself, I can’t write. When I am unhappy or in pain, I can’t write. For them, writing is their main source of income. Doing nothing but writing is their job. And yea, they did mention there were times where they quit everything, moved into their parents basements and just wrote but that isn’t always an option for everyone. At this point in my life, it 100% is not an option. College was expensive. Keeping myself and my pets alive, fed, and sheltered is expensive. Being able to get to and from work is expensive. It all adds up. And my parents aren’t even in a position to let me come live with them rent free while they take care of me and and my animals and I just sit around all day and write. That is not an option. I was not raised that way. Maybe, one day, there will be a time where my job will be just to write. That would be awesome. But at this point in my life, work has to come first. Writing is my hobby for the time being. And when I finish my book and go on my book tours and talk to people about writing, I will make a point to talk about how hard it is to have 2 jobs and write a book. I will make sure others know, it didn’t make me any less of a writer and it doesn’t make anyone any less of a writer.

If you want to check out the current series I am reading, below I posted my usual book cover photos with links to go buy them if you want.

 

 

Don’t forget to follow me here and on Twitter @Andythewriter33

 

Leave a Reply

