Just be Writing

So after I whined at you last week I spent the rest of the week planning my way out of the hole I dug myself into. The plan is there, but I am not 100% sure it will work. But I’m going to try. Pretty much about to go into full hermit mode for the next 10 months. If this works, I will have a little more breathing room. It will require some serious self control though which has always been my downfall. Hopefully, I can fill my new free hermit time with writing! And reading!

I am so far behind in my reading challenge for this year. It’s bad.

I did finish the third book in the Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. I really enjoyed it. It was a slow start for me because I think it had been too long since I read the last one and I had a hard time remembering details about people or what was even going on. Once it picked up though, it really picked up. I read most of it in one day. I couldn’t put it down. If you like fantasy, I would recommend Sarah J. Maas. I have enjoyed a lot of her work.

23766634

Next on my list is to go back to reading some murder mysteries/thrillers to get myself back in the mind set for my book. I am currently reading Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes.

15818362

I read the first few pages already and I am intrigued. Hopefully it will get me going on my writing. I plan on trying to write something every day, again. Even if it isn’t for my book. I just need to get back to writing. I’m never going to finish my book if I don’t write, right?

I wonder how many times I have set up all my fool proof plans to get out of debt and finish my book and become a best selling author? haha! I am my own worst enemy. I am the only one who can change anything though. So, it is time to do it. It is time to get my shit together and have one less thing to feel bad about myself. It is going to be really hard, and it is going to require help/support from my family (I will probably be eating dinner at my parents house for the next 10 months) and friends but luckily, I have pretty much narrowed down my circle of friends to only those who are supportive and actually care about my well being over their desires to go do things and spend money. Plus, in the grand scheme of things, 10 months is nothing. It is less than a year. Once it is done, I will have 2 less things to stress about. That is something to look forward to! I will be putting some of my travel plans on hold (not Ireland though. that is 100% still happening Sept 2018) but once I will have more money at my disposal, it will be easier to make travel decisions. I think, in the long run, this is going to be so worth it and just have to keep reminding myself of that. Don’t you just love my motivational speeches to myself? Fingers crossed this one sticks!

So, I have barely talked about my book at all! I have gotten to this point where I am trying to start wrapping it up and I have this character who is 100% based on a friend I went to high school with and I am really enjoying writing him. I am nervous what he will think of his character but I think he will like him. I mean, hell, he pretty much is him haha. I have taken traits from people before for characters but I have never tried to put someone fully into my writing. It has been an interesting process for sure.

I am also excited to start writing her realization when she figures out who it is that is stalking her and making her life terrifying. I’ve started planting little seeds for her and they should be blooming pretty soon. Sometimes, I worry I am making her too dumb but I have to remind myself, we as humans to tend to be short sighted so hopefully she won’t really come off that way. Plus, it is always easier to see something from the outside vs when you are actually in the situation. I have to keep reminding myself to write her so that she is in the situation because she clearly is incapable of seeing the entire situation from the outside. I am thinking this book I am reading now will give me some ideas because it is one that is written from both perspectives (the killer and the victim). Sometimes, I feel like I need to add more to my killer. I have an entire background that I built up in my head for him that will never be in the book but I just have to keep referencing it as I write to ensure he reacts the correct way to things. Same with her, although, I don’t have as detailed a background for her haha I am not really sure why. His criminal profile is over flowing but she is kind of boring. I need to work on that too. I need to create some past for her to explain why she is acting the way she is in this situation. Maybe that is what I can write when I am not writing the book. I can flush out her personal history. Make her more of a real person.

Alright guys, I am feeling much more positive and motivated, if not a little intimidated for the next 10 months. But at least this post was more empowering than whiny, yea?

Time to get to work. These things aren’t going to do themselves.

medium_Motivation_Writing_Humour

May the writing gods smile upon you!

Don’t forget to follow me here and on Twitter @AndytheWriter33.

 

Leave a Reply

